MINUTES

AUBURN COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT #10

606 W. North Street Auburn IL September 15, 2021 REGULAR MEETING District Office & Via Zoom

7:00 pm

The following members answered roll call at the regular meeting of the Auburn Board of Education on September 15, 2021: Present: John Megginson, Brad Smith, Jamie Kuhlmann, and Michael Bates. Absent: Josh Smith, Matt Kern, and Carl Kessler. Also present were Darren Root, Dave Bates, Matt Grimm, Nathan Essex, Christy Bailey, and Amy Donaldson. Present: Sandy Jones, Erin Bidleman, and Ruby Howard, secretary to the board.

Bates moved to adopt the agenda. B. Smith seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Megginson	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	absent	J. Smith	absent
Kuhlman	yea		

There being 4 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

Recognitions

School Nurses - Nikki Norris and Jennifer Kessler

Presentation and Explanation of FY22 Budget

Kuhlmann moved to open the FY22 Budget Hearing. Bates seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Megginson	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	absent	J. Smith	absent
Kuhlman	yea		

There being 4 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

Megginson asked for discussion / public comment. There was none.

Bates moved to close the FY22 Budget Hearing. B. Smith seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Megginson	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	absent	J. Smith	absent
Kuhlman	yea		

There being 4 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

Bates moved to approve the FY22 Budget. B Smith seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Megginson	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	absent	J. Smith	absent
Kuhlman	yea		

There being 4 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

Bates moved to approve consent agenda items which consisted of:

- Approved Minutes of Regular Board Meeting 8/11/2021
- Approved Closed Session and Seal of 8/11/2021
- Approved SASED Action Items
- Approved School District Accounts Payable / Payroll
- Approved School Activity Accounts Payable
- Approved Monthly Financial Report
- Approved Monthly Activity Accounts Report
- Approved Board Policy 1:30 School District Philosophy
- Approved Board Policy 2:10 School District Governance
- Approved Board Policy 2:30 School District Elections
- Approved Board Policy 2:130 Board-Superintendent Relationship
- Approved Board Policy 2:240 Board Policy Development
- Approved Board Policy 5:10 Equal Employment Opportunity and Minority Recruitment
- Approved Board Policy 6:145 Migrant Students
- Approved Board Policy 6:160 English Learners
- Approved Board Policy 6:235 Access to Electronic Networks
- Approved Board Policy 6:255 Assemblies and Ceremonies
- Approved Board Policy 6:260 Complaints About Curriculum, Instructional Materials, and Programs
- Approved Board Policy 7:220 Bus Conduct
- Approved Board Policy 7:280 Communicable and Chronic Infectious Disease
- Approved Board Policy 8:90 Parent Organizations and Booster Clubs
- Accepted Retirement / Resignation of Dietician Stacey Malone
- Employed Bus Driver Dan Roseberry
- Employed Bus Driver Kathy Roseberry
- Employed HS Cashier Heather White
- Approved selling old shop equipment Lathe- 13"- Surface Plane 6"Jointer
- B. Smith seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Megginson	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	absent	J. Smith	absent
Kuhlman	yea		

There being 4 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

Bates moved to approve playground change order as presented. Kuhlmann seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Megginson	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	absent	J. Smith	absent
Kuhlman	yea		

There being 4 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

Bates moved to approve \$50,000 Matching Maintenance Grant. B Smith seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Megginson	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	absent	J. Smith	absent
Kuhlman	yea		

There being 4 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

B. Smith moved to approve Intergovernmental Transportation Agreement. Bates seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Megginson	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	absent	J. Smith	absent
Kuhlman	vea		

There being 4 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

Kuhlmann moved to authorize administration to seek bids for three 77 passenger buses. Bates seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Megginson	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	absent	J. Smith	absent
Kuhlman	yea		

There being 4 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

B. Smith moved to authorize administration to seek Track bids. Kuhlmann seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Megginson	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	absent	J. Smith	absent
Kuhlman	yea		

There being 4 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

B. Smith moved to approve Auburn City and Auburn School Safe Route to School Project Resolution. Bates seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Megginson	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	absent	J. Smith	absent
Kuhlman	vea		

There being 4 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

Bates moved to employ Food Service Director - Jay Ayers salary - \$62,000 / 190 day. B. Smith seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Megginson	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	absent	J. Smith	absent
Kuhlman	yea		

There being 4 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

Superintendent Report

District Updates

- o District Updates
- Cash Flow Analysis

Bates moved to go into Closed Session at 7:33 pm. Kuhlmann seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Megginson	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	absent	J. Smith	absent
Kuhlman	yea		

There being 4 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried

Board came out of Closed Session at 8:14 pm.

B. Smith moved to adjourn at 8:15 pm. Bates seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Megginson	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	absent	J. Smith	absent
Kuhlman	yea		

There being 4 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried

Auburn Community School District #10 Auburn, IL 62615	
President	Secretary