## MINUTES AUBURN COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT #10 April 15, 2020 REGULAR MEETING VIA ZOOM 7:00 pm

The following members answered roll call at the regular meeting of the Auburn Board of Education on April 15, 2020: Present: Fred Jessup, Carl Kessler, John Megginson, Josh Smith, Scott Norris, Matt Kern and Brad Smith. Also present were Darren Root, Amy Donaldson, Nathan Essex, Matt Grimm, Mark Dudley, Dave Bates, Jay Weber, Althea Dowson, Jon Petty, Erin Bidleman, and Ruby Howard secretary to the board.

Kern moved to adopt the agenda. Kessler seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Jessup	yea	Norris	yea
Kern	yea	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	yea	J. Smith	yea
Megginson	yea		

There being 7 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

Kern moved to approve consent agenda items which consisted of:

- Approved Minutes of Regular Board Meeting 3/11/2020
- Approved Minutes and Seal of Closed Session 3/11/2020
- Approved SASED Action Items
- Approved School District Accounts Payable / Payroll
- Approved School Activity Accounts Payable
- Approved Monthly Financial Report
- Approved Monthly Activity Accounts Report
- Adopted Resolution for Flex Spending Plan
- Approved Bus Monitor RIF Rebecca Hamer
- Accepted Resignation of Bus Driver John Cribbett
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 2:125 Board Member Compensation; Expenses
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 2:160 Board Attorney
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 5:35 Compliance with Fair Labor Standards Act
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 5:60 Expenses
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 5:150 Personnel Records
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 5:280 Duties and Qualifications
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 8:110 Public Suggestions and Concerns
- Employed Speech Language Pathologist Maria Collins
- Employed 5th Grade Teacher Marley Schmidt
- Approved 20/21 School Fees
- Approved 20/21 Meal Prices

Norris seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Jessup	yea	Norris	yea
Kern	yea	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	yea	J. Smith	yea
Megginson	yea		

There being 7 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

## Superintendent Report

- District Updates
- Presentation of Tentative Amended FY20 Budget
- Cash Flow Analysis

Norris moved to approve SASED Resolution Authorizing Notice of Nonrenewal of Probationary Teacher. J. Smith seconded the motion. The voting as follows:

Jessup	yea	Norris	yea
Kern	yea	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	yea	J. Smith	yea
Megginson	yea		

There being 7 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

President opened the floor for Treasurer nominations - 1 year term.

Megginson moved to nominate Josh Smith for Board Treasurer. With no other nominations, the President declared the nominations closed. The voting was unanimous and the President declared Josh Smith Treasurer by acclamation.

Kern moved to re-employ non-tenured teachers. Megginson seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Jessup	yea	Norris	yea
Kern	yea	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	yea	J. Smith	yea
Megginson	yea		

There being 7 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried

Norris moved to re-employ tenured teachers. Josh Smith seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Jessup	yea	Norris	yea
Kern	yea	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	yea	J. Smith	yea
Megginson	yea		

There being 7 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried

B. Smith moved to re-employ support staff. Kesser seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Jessup	yea	Norris	yea
Kern	yea	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	yea	J. Smith	yea
Megginson	yea		

There being 7 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried

Megginson moved to set support staff pay. Kessler seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

yea	Norris	recuse
yea	B. Smith	yea
yea	J. Smith	yea
yea		
	yea yea	yea B. Smith yea J. Smith

There being 6 "yeas", 0 "nays", 1 "recuse", the president declared the motion carried

Megginson moved to approve base playground bid with Ron Furman Paving. B. Smith seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Jessup	yea	Norris	yea
Kern	yea	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	yea	J. Smith	yea
Megginson	yea		

There being 7 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried

Megginson moved to adjourn at 7:39 pm. Kern seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Jessup	yea	Norris	yea
Kern	yea	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	yea	J. Smith	yea
Megginson	yea		

There being 7 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried

## Auburn Community School District #10 Auburn, IL 62615

President

Secretary